Sunday, September 24, 2006

The making of Delhi

Delhi has been built and rebuilt from the time of the 11th century Tomars to the British in 1911.
1st city: Lal Kot was founded by Tomar ruler Anangpal.
2nd city: Qutbuddin Aibak, the first Sultan of Delhi in 1206 constructed Qutab Minar.
3rd city: Siri fort by Allaudin Khalji.
4th city: Tughlaqabad by Ghiyasuddin Tuglaq
5th city: Firuzabad by Firuz Shah Tuglaq
6th city: Dinpanah of Humanyun
7th city: Destroying of Dinpanah and reconstruction as Purana Qila by Humayun
8th city: Edwin Lutyens New Delhi